Skip to main content

Women's Lifestyle Magazine

Celebrate the 31st Annual ATHENA Awards

Aug 24, 2020 08:00AM ● By Elyse Wild

On Sept. 15, the Grand Rapids Chamber of Commerce will hold the 31st Annual ATHENA Awards to celebrate the achievements of local women in business. In light of the ongoing pandemic, this year's event will be held virtually. 

Since 1989, the ATHENA Award program has honored local women who demonstrate the following tenents: authentic self, relationships, giving back, collaboration, courageous acts, learning, fierce advocacy, celebration and joy.

The ATHENA Leadership Award is presented to an outstanding leader who is honored for professional excellence, community service and for actively assisting women in their attainment of professional excellence and leadership skills. More than thirty amazing individuals have received the prestigious ATHENA Award in Grand Rapids.

Past winners include community icons such former Hungerford Nichols partner Peggy Murphy; WGVU Morning Host Shelley Irwin; Community Foundation President Diana Sieger; and the late Eileen DeVries, a trailblazing financial advisor who was instrumental in implementing a law overturning men-only tee times at golf courses throughout the state.

This year's ATHENA nominees are:

ATHENA Organizational Leadership Award Finalists

Kids' Food Basket

Lindo Mexico

Metric Structures

ATHENA Leadership Award Finalists

Tasha Blackmon, Chief Executive Officer, Cherry Health

Candace Matthews, Chief Reputation Officer, Amway 

Bonnie Nawara, Chief Executive Officer, Grand Rapids Opportunities for Women

Ana Ramirez-Saenz, President, La Fuente Consulting LLLC

Misti Stanton, Assistant Vice President and Diversity & Inclusion Officer, Mercantile Bank of Michigan

ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award Finalists

Brandy Arnold, Program Manager, West Michigan Center for Arts + Technology

Elise Kutt, Founder & Photographer, Mod Bettie

Ashley René Lee, Vice President of Strategic Communications, Grand Rapids Community Foundation

Ashley Ward, Founder & Chief Executive Officer, Hire for Hope

Shannon Wilson, Director of Medicaid Outreach & Quality, Priority Health

Tickets are $80 for chamber members and $110 for non-members. Click here to purchase tickets.